Travel Diary: Barcelona

After finishing uni, and then starting full time work I’ve had little free time to go off jet setting. I never got the urge to do the whole gap year thing or travelling after finishing uni, I went straight into an internship and luckily I gained a full time job there. Sometimes I regret going head first into my career (usually when I’m browsing Instagram & admiring peoples backpacking photos), but who knows if I would of had the same chance if I went off travelling and I don’t think I could of coped living from a backpack!

So, for my birthday I decided to go to Barcelona! It was a short city break of 4 days and 3 nights, but to be honest, it was the perfect amount of time.

What I got up to…

La Sagrada Familia

Before we arrived we knew we weren’t far from the La Sagrada Familia, but we didn’t realise just how close we were, we could even see it from our hotel window. No matter how many times we walked past it, which we did every day, we still couldn’t get over the sheer size of it and the amazing detail! Definitely a must see!

Park Güell

Walking around Park Güell was possibly my favourite day we had in Barcelona, I wasn’t sure what to expect at first but it was just such a beautiful park. We planned on purchasing tickets to see the whole park but when we arrived they were already fully booked and the next available time was a few hours away, so we decided to just visit the park, which to be honest was good enough for me. The views from walking up to the top of the park were absolutely stunning. I would highly recommend purchasing a ticket before going to avoid any disappointment, if you’re planning on visiting that area of the park.

Camp Nou

Again, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I really enjoyed the museum section of the stadium. It had insane technology throughout and it really impressed me, probably not the same reason as everyone else there, they were most likely more impressed with visiting one of the biggest stadiums in the world. I wasn’t actually that impressed with the stadium (oopsies), but that can be left up to you to decide if you ever go.

La Rambla

Before we went to Barcelona, I had seen stacks of photos of La Rambla and it definitely lived up to it’s expectations, the street was packed with beautiful buildings, human statues and lots of food! The food market was full of every type of food you could think of and lots of meat!

Mount Tibidabo

If you’re a die hard Friends fan like myself then you will recognise Mount Tibidabo, it made me laugh even before going up it and plus I didn’t even know it was a real place until I was trecking up it! To get up the Mountain we had to get a funicular train up it, it had amazing views of the whole of Barcelona plus an amusement park which I thought was very bizarre!

Top tips:

  1. I definitely recommend buying a 2 day bus ticket from the Tour City buses, it gives you access to every part of Barcelona without any hassle! I’m not sure how we would of got around without our tickets, and it meant we saw every part of Barcelona possible.
  2.  Research before you get there – have a rough idea of where you want to go. Barcelona is huge and if you’re going there for a short break there’s quite a lot to fit in. Knowing what you are going to do each day will make sure you don’t waste time when you’re there 🙂
  3. Wear comfy shoes, there is just so much to do and before you know it you’ve walked miles. (I wore converse, and I got a lot of blisters!) One minute you’re at the beach and the next you’re up a Mountain, so a versatile pair of shoes is essential.
Leave a Reply

